French Revolution




Ideas: Fuzet and the liberals

Classes: Lefebvre and the marxists

Entropy: Schama and the conservatives


Ancien Regime       the intendant system        parlements 

Louis XVI (1774-1792)    Bourbons      Absolutism

Three Estates         Clergy, Nobility, Commoners (Bourgeoisie, Peasants, Artisans)

the taille and the corvee          Bankruptcy             Estates General


Stage One (1789-1792) The Liberal Revolution

National Assembly (1789-1791)       Tennis Court Oath (June 20, 1789)

Storming of the Bastille (July 14, 1789)      The Great Fear and August 4th

Declaration of the Rights of Man        Civil Constitution of the Clergy

Flight to Varennes           Constitution of 1791           Girondists    Jacobins

War: Declaration of Pillnitz 1791, War of the First Coalition


Stage Two (1792-1794) The Radical Revolution

Tuilleries and September Massacres         Sans-culottes      Deposition of Louis XVI

National Convention    The Mountain      the enragées    Execution of Louis XVI             

Radical Reforms       liberte, equalite, fraternite    

Committee of Public Safety      Reign of Terror  

Marat             Danton         Robespierre          

Vendee Revolt          Levee en masse    the Law of 22 Prairial


Stage Three (1794-1799) Thermidorean Reaction

Constitution of the Year III (1795)         The Directory (1795-99)

Stage Four (1799-1815) Napoleon Bonaparte

The Consulate      Reforms          Code Napoleon

Concordat of 1801

War: Victories Everywhere    (Confederation of the Rhine  1806)     Continental System


Trafalgar (1805)       Peninsular War (1807-1814)        Invasion of Russia (1812)

Abdication 1814 to Elba         100 Days             Waterloo

Congress of Vienna (1814-15)